Roasted Acorn Squash with Fall Couscous

Tonight was a night of firsts for me. I had never had acorn squash and I had never made couscous – and I worked both into this dish. I got the squash from Huber’s on Saturday and the couscous was a whole wheat organic from WF.
1 acorn squash, halved, scooped out
olive oil
s/p/rosemary (all to taste)
3/4 cup chicken broth (or veggie broth if you wanna go completely vegetarian)
1/2 cup couscous
2 T golden raisins
1 T walnuts
pepper
drizzle olive oil

Heat oven to 450 and roaste the acorn squash with seasonings and oil for about 30 minutes, or until desired doneness. When the squash is about done – boil broth and add couscous, turning pot over and covering for 5 minutes or until done. Add raisins, walnuts, and seasonings. Scoop some couscous into the open squash cavity to plate. Drizzle with olive oil.
To be honest, the couscous was better then the squash. I had just had an amazing experience with butternut squash, and I was a little disappointed it wasn’t as tasty. It was good – maybe I’ll try it a sweeter version next time (with honey and brown sugar).
About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Acorn Squash with Fall Couscous

  1. Sounds delicious. I made this Moroccan-style stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

Leave a Reply

