Dried Fruit Spice Scone (2009.29)

Betty Crocker comes through. Little story on this cookbook (BC New Cookbook). When I was about to leave for seminary, Christmas 1999, my mentors (who I was living with at the time) gave me this cookbook for Christmas that year. They signed the front of it. This is the inscription:
“What a wonderful homemaker you will be. I can’t wait to see this cookbook in 10 years or so…Wishing you all of God’s best for you. He does have a wonderful plan and we rejoice as we watch it unfold in your life.” I am still cooking out of this cookbook (I find it very basic, you can learn how to cook almost everything in this cookbook, and it has all the nutritional info with each recipe – and great pictures).
Robshaws – thank you. Thank you for teaching me about hospitality and cooking in college, and for still loving me and pouring into my life today – almost 10 years later.

Dried Fruit Spice Scones (p 48)

5 T unsalted, chilled butter (I used a little less than what they called for)
1/2 scant cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour (I mixed my flours as normal)
1/2 cup rolled oats
3 T sugar (just enough to make them mildly sweet)
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp salt
1 large egg
1/2 cup diced mixed dried fruit (or raisins, currents, craisins, anything you like, or seasonal)
1/4 cup milk

Mix dry – cut in butter. Egg egg just to bind, fold in dried fruit. Add milk to bind together. Bake at 400 for 10-12 minutes, dropped in spoonfulls on ungreased cooking sheet.
These actually were pretty good. Basic scone, easily adapted to anything, healthy (115 cal, 5 fat, 1 fiber). Makes 15 scones. I think I will freeze most of these so I can pull them out for breakfast during the week. Yum!

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment