Black Pepper Buttermilk Biscuits

I found this recipe a few months ago in a restaurant section of Bon Appetit. This week I was looking through my torn out recipes and wanted to make them.
These turned out great, and were very easy. I loved the pepper on them because it made them savory. I got more than 12, but then I forgot the shorten the time. I would probably cook them 1 minute less than I did – but these were so yummy.

4 cups all purpose flour (King Arthur’s is amazing for breads)
4 tsps baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 sticks chilled, cubed unsalted butter
1 1/2 cup chilled lowfat buttermilk
1 egg white

black pepper

In food processor (or with 2 forks or pastry cutter), cut in butter into flour and powder, soda, and salt. You should get crumbles. Add in buttermilk. Mix. Dump out on lightly floured area. Knead for a little bit. Pat out till about 3/4 inch thick. Using biscuit cutter cut out biscuits. Rework dough to get more biscuits. I got 19. Put on lightly greased cookie sheet. Brush with egg white for shine. Sprinkle with black pepper. Bake at 450 for about 15 minutes.
And remember – these are very yummy!
About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

