Jesus What a Friend for Sinners

We sang this song at Providence’s Gathering last night. Who says hymns aren’t relevant or that theology can’t be sung about? I love hymns. Old or new. Much better than 7-11 songs. But…that’s beside the point. God is good in giving me Jesus!

Jesus! What a friend for sinners!
Jesus! Lover of my soul;
Friends may fail me, foes assail me,
He, my Savior, makes me whole.

Chorus: Hallelujah! What a Savior!
Hallelujah! What a friend!
Saving, helping, keeping, loving,
He is with me to the end.

2. Jesus! What a strength in weakness!
Let me hide myself in Him.
Tempted, tried, and sometimes failing,
He, my strength, my victory wins.
(Repeat chorus)

3. Jesus! What a help in sorrow!
While the billows o’er me roll,
Even when my heart is breaking,
He, my comfort, helps my sou
l.
(Repeat chorus)

4. Jesus! I do now receive Him,
More than all in Him I find.
He hath granted me forgiveness,

I am His, and He is mine.

Sometimes it is a good thing to go back and listen and read those old hymns. This was written by John Chapman in 1910. So – 100 years old and still relevant to my life today. And I’m glad that Jesus has befriended me – a sinner, condemned and unclean – and has made me whole not by any doing of my own but by the glorious happening and work on the Cross and from the empty tomb. Jesus is glorious!

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Worship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

