Taste of Goodyear, AZ: Taste of Italy

Confusing title I know. One of the hostesses at our host church, Calvary Goodyear, recommended this pizza eatery the first day of the Boot Camp, but I didn’t get there till today. It was literally the first thing we came to. What a good find!
The main mister who ran it was definitely Italian and definitely a New Yorker (just like the lady at Calvary said). You can’t beat good, fresh Italian food from those who know how to cook it! (thanks Lauren L for being one of those people in my life).
I chose the baked ziti because I knew I needed some carbs to fuel me for two hiking sessions. D_J ordered 2 slices of pepperoni pizza.
Mine was nice and piping hot served in a metal dish, loaded with cheese. The best thing about the side salad was the fresh grated whole milk mozz cheese on top. Who can turn down cheese on a salad – or in ziti. The ziti was definitely different than mine, more tomato-y, saucy, but had great flavor and was a winner. D_J said the pizza was definitely fresh, didn’t come out of a box, and hadn’t been sitting there a while. It was hot! He folded it like a true NYorker.
The best part of the dining experience besides the conversation and a mental break from the boot camp – was the opportunity to interact with the owner. Such a joy. You could tell he loved what he did! I would have liked to have shaken his hand.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

