Books Reviewed: Starr Meade’s God’s Mighty Acts in…

It seems that much of my focus in ministry has changed over the last 6 months. Many of you know I am now working on staff at a church in Raleigh, NC, working on a unified Sunday School curriculum for Birth-18. It is very exciting and I see how God is training my thoughts towards this.
Starr Meade is a great benefit to me. I saw this in the Crossway catalog about a month ago and knew I wanted to have it in my hand. Got it last week. I will be using these as great resources as I continue to study and write this curriculum.
The two that I have in my hand are God’s Mighty Acts in Salvation and God’s Mighty Acts in Creation. I have had my head in creation now for a couple of weeks, plugging along at those lessons, so this was perfect timing. The Salvation one is basically a commentary/walk-through of the book of Galatians. Both books point to the gospel and Jesus.
These books are written for kids 8-12 and I really think they are matched well for that age. They are about 1-2 pages in length, perfect for attention spans.
What is really neat in them is that each lesson has an “as for me and my house” section: these are activities or further thinking opportunities that can involve the whole family or even the neighborhood to make it a home-schooling or evangelistic took. This is crucial. Parents are definitely commanded by God to be the disciplers of their children (see Dt 6.4-9, Ps 78). The one sentiment I’ve heard over the last 3 years is that parents don’t know where to begin. If you need a tool or some ideas, these books would be a great place to start. Walk through them with your pre-teen – engage them and the Word – see how being in the Word together changes you, your child(ren), and your family. These books definitely teach children to treasure Christ.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books Reviewed: Starr Meade’s God’s Mighty Acts in…

  1. nicole says:

    These books sound very good!
    Thanks for the recommendation
    I am currently using as a part of our homeschool curriculm the Kay Arthur studies for kids..they are great as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

