Heroines

I got this idea from my friend, Jeff Robinson, who did some Hero blogging over at CBMW. Dads, parents – need to read these posts. This is part of his second post:
What is a hero? Iain Murray points out in his recent book Heroes (Banner of Truth) that the Shorter Oxford English Dictionary defines is as, “A man who exhibits extraordinary. . .greatness of soul, in connection with any pursuit, work or enterprise.’ That’s not a bad definition, and though I am mostly writing out of the experience of raising boys and having been a boy with heroes (both good and bad as you now know!), God has also given the church many heroines such as Amy Carmichael and Lottie Moon. The Titus 2 model of women ministering to women operates upon this precept as well-older, and presumably wiser and godly women, mentoring younger women in the faith.

I wanted to talk about some of the heroines in my life that have taught me – and how they have modeled different Scriptures to me:
1. Mom. She has taught me about prayer and faithfulness.
2. Phyllis. She has taught me how to live out The Word in every thing. She has diligence in prayer time, inteceding for her family (and me), and how to have the Word in all parts of your home (she literally has the Word plasted all over her home. That is what I am trying to do in my home and in my office. Always good reminders.
3. Lindsay. She marches on with three babies under the age of 5, keeps her home stylish and in order, provides great cooked meals for her husband and family, and does it with a smile on her face. I love her real skills of homemaking. Maybe I can be like her one day.
4. BeckyLynn. Recent hero. Facing cancer with joy (not just peace). Loves her God. Loves her family. Loves the Word and the truth that is provided therein.
5. Laura and Bonnie. These girls taught me much. We are all in different life-stages but all the same age. These girls point me to the Gospel, love the gospel, love other women, love their husbands and their children, are creative, are frugal, are generous, are blessings. Maybe I can be like them one day?

There are many other women, young and old, who teach me what it is to be a woman of the Word, serve the Bride, serve their husbands and their children, balance life, keep health in check, cook delicious food, sew pretty things, decorate their home well.
I love that I have people to look up to, model my life and home after, and also encourage them to keep pouring into the gospel.
Do you have women in your life that press you further into the gospel? Who are your heroines?

Titus 2.3-5, 11-14
Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good,and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled. For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age, waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all lawlessness and to purify for himself a people for his own possession who are zealous for good works.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Women. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Heroines

  1. Debbie says:

    The heroines that come to my mind are those that faithfully teach God’s word . From those that have led studies in my church to Nancy Leigh DeMoss and Kay Arthur.

  2. Bonnie Myers says:

    Love you Kim. YOU are a hero.

    • Lindsay Weldy says:

      I echo that. What a true blessing you are, friend. We miss you! (On a completely random note…it feels weird starting the college football season without you here!)

      • kimddavidson says:

        I know – I miss you guys and the ability to come to your house and watch football and hang out (even though we disagree on teams). 🙂
        Also, did you defriend me on fb or did you get off all together?

  3. nicole says:

    wow you are blessed indeed!!
    For me right now my heriones are Nancy Leigh and Mary Kassian 🙂
    great post!

  4. Lindsay Weldy says:

    I got off FB all together…my account got hacked so I called it quits…not like I was on it much to begin with, huh?

  5. laura says:

    thinking about you tonight, girl!

Leave a Reply

