First Fall Baking of 2010: Caramel Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bars

These are time consuming, but the finished product is worth it. I was kinda worried how they would be in the end, but they turned out very yummy indeed.
Sugar Cooking is the place with the recipe, but I’ll give you some additional tips.
1. This thing already has three sticks of butter in it – use 1/3 less fat cream cheese.
2. Keep your butter chilled, will make for easier cutting in and crumbling both for the crust and the topping.
3. This is a good way to use up that caramel ice cream topping in your fridge (I had just bought a whole jar for some brownies I made the other night).
4. I had to cook mine 10-15 minutes longer than Sugar Cooking’s recipe said. I was worried it would never get done, still think it could have cooked a little longer, but oh well.
5. I chilled mine over night and cut them this evening – they were great. At first the crust is a little thick tasting – but when you get them to room temp to serve, it turns out pretty good.
6. Spray your aluminum foil for full assurance that they won’t stick.
7. The topping is the best part – don’t skimp out on the topping. The apples, streusel, and caramel topping make this dessert. You’ll think it is going to be too top heavy, but it balances out the cheesecake filling just right. If anything I would maybe use less crust – but tweak it as you go.
Enjoy. More fall recipes to come later.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

