Maple Almond Mixed Fruit and Nut Granola

I just finished up some granola this week, and knew I needed to make some more. Then I remembered there was a fall recipe in my new Bon Appetit magazine I could try. Whole Foods didn’t help me out very much so I had to improvise…but it turned out good, simple, and will go well with anything.

5 cups oats
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1 1/4 cup raw walnuts, chopped
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup canola oil
1/2 cup pur maple syrup (I used grade A)
1/2 cup hot water
1 T vanilla extract
2 t almond extract
1/2 tsp sea salt
3/4 cup dried blueberries
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 300. 2 medium rimmed baking sheets sprayed with oil.
Mix oats, nuts, and cinnamon. Whisk all the rest (minus fruit) and pour over the top of the oats mixture. Stir until all combined. Bake for about 30-35 minutes (maybe less, maybe more). What I do: since the only way you can really ruin granola is to burn it, I set the timer for 15 minutes, then stir every 5 minutes after that so it doesn’t burn and I can take it out as soon as I think it is done.
Once cooled, add dried fruit. Store in air tight container, give to a friend, eat with milk for breakfast, greek yogurt and fruit for lunch, or keep in your desk drawer for a snack.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

