Blatant Marketing Lies

I’ve seen a couple of advertisements – both on the side of trucks – that have made me ponder, question, and then just reject because they were outright lies – without me even testing their products.
Here we go:

1. Follow your folly. Our’s is beer. This has nothing to do with alcohol by the way, a more important topic is at hand.

If I say I’m a Christian then the Bible, God’s Word, His infallible instruction for my life – must determine what I do and what I think. Now, I do not follow this all the time because I am a sinner. That is not an excuse, just the truth. But, folly is no where in Scripture a good thing. Here are just some examples:
1. O God you know my folly, the wrongs I have done are not hidden from you.
2. He dies for lack of discipline, and because of his great folly he is led astray.
3. The woman folly is loud, she is seductive and knows nothing.
4. The heart of fools proclaims folly.
5. The mouths of fools pour out folly.
Fools – He who doesn’t believe there is a God. Actions determine definition. Does your fruit bear your relationship with Christ.

So…follow your foolish destructive habits. Ours is beer. Nuff said.

2. Hell is hot. At least its a dry heat. – Another said beer truck.
I just went to AZ for the first time in August. It was beautiful and amazing. I loved the dry heat, even though I still like at least some humidity. The Bible does agree with the fact that hell is hot. Eternal flames might do that to a place. But, the Bible does not joke about the location that God has ordained for the devil and his angels.

1. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body be thrown into hell.
2. You serpents, how are you to escape being sentenced to hell?
3. the devil who had deceived them was thrown into the lake of fire and sulfur where the beast and the false prophet were, and they will be tormented day and night forever and ever
4. And if anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire.

So…marketing…read it. Think through it. Drink beer, don’t drink beer, but don’t buy into the lies of the advertising agent. I’m reminded of one of my David Wilcox songs that is great for such a post as this:

If you want some real contentment,
to live life at its best,
You can buy these dry tobacco leaves, to breathe into your chest.
And then look up at the billboard, while all the promises come true, for you.

You’ll feel alive with pleasure, playful as a child.
You’ve come to where the freedom is.
You’re cool and mild.
You’ll laugh with every lungful as the change comes over you.

So look up at the billboard.
See her smiling, sexy and tan.
But the only one who’s laughing is the advertising man.

Those portraits of pleasure, of those who like to smoke,
They’re laughing in the photograph, but we don’t get the joke.
Now why would they be smiling while they’re looking down our way?
I guess they’re making easy money climbing up the rungs,
From selling us a parasite that’s feeding on our lungs.
They must be laughing in astonishment that we believe the things they say.

So look up at the billboard.
See her smiling, sexy and tan.
But the only one who’s laughing is the advertising man.

Now crack’ll kill you quickly. That’s why it’s got to go.
They’ll get more of your money if they kill you nice and slow.
And the only one who’s laughing is the advertising man.

……………………………………….

David Wilcox, all rights reserved.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blatant Marketing Lies

  1. C’mon! New Belgium beer is the best. I’ve often thought their place in Ft. Collins is a great example of a community.

  2. J D says:

    Those don’t really qualify as lies, bad jokes perhaps…
    Issue #1: “Follow your folly. Our’s is beer” they are encouraging you to follow your own foolish activity. Their foolish activity happens to include beer. They are inviting you to join them or find your own folly. In the words of Willy Wonka “A little nonsense, now and then, is relished by the wisest men”.
    Issue #2: “Hell is hot. At least its a dry heat.” I saw this one on a billboard. It’s a bad joke and weak advertising. Not really worthy of further thought.

    • kimddavidson says:

      Thank you for your comments. I only slightly disagree with your first issue. Having fun every now and then is not folly. There is a difference. I love to have fun – but I’m not been consistently foolish.

Leave a Reply

