From a Pastor’s Wife: Life Questions Part 1

One of my genuine, humble, and passionate pastors I’ve ever had the privilege of serving with is Brad O’Brien. Then, the college pastor for the Summit Church in Durham, now the Campus Pastor of Summit Church West Club Campus. He is now married to the beautiful Jena-Marie, and has a precious daughter, CG. I got to spend some time with the girls about a month ago and asked J-M to answer some questions for the readers of this blog…thought her insights could be helpful (especially for pastor’s/ministry wives with young children). Thank you J-M, and yes, Brad, you married up! 🙂 Blessings to you both.
(Three of the questions will post today, three will post tomorrow, stay tuned.)

KD – What do you mean when you say “I have always felt a ‘call’ to being a mom?

J-M – I don’t necessarily feel as though it was a call to be a mom, more like it was what I was created to do. My body was created to bear children. (Yes, because of the fall of man, there are some complications for people, but ultimately women’s bodies were designed to have babies) After going through my pregnancy, I realized more that it is an absolute miracle that a baby could grow, thrive and live inside of me. And just as much of a miracle for a baby to be born and be healthy. I always knew that I wanted to be a mom. Growing up I always assumed I would get married and have biological children. But I quickly learned that that may not be the path God has for me. In that process of wondering if that’s what God had planned, I still knew I always wanted to be a” mom”. I wasn’t always sure what that would look like; biological children? Adopted? Or just being maternal and loving on kids that I taught. Now, having CG it is something that God has called me to do; to raise her and be her mom. It’s a form of worship and hopefully will bring God glory.

However, I do feel called to be a stay at home mom. Not only to I strongly believe that having children is such a blessing, it’s a gift that I need to be a good steward of. God has called me to raise CG into a child of God. It is MY job to be the one to tell her about Christ, to love her, discipline her, guide her, etc. And I have certainly realized what a full time job it is. I could easily just be a caretaker for her. I could feed her, bathe her, change her, and put her down to sleep. But isn’t life so much for than that? I want to be the one to tell her about the love of Jesus. I get to teach her to make moral decisions, to teach her about this world and why we were created for something so much better. I get to be with her every day that the Lord allows, to show her more of Christ’s love in hopes that one day she will know Him and love Him as her Lord. It’s amazing that I am able to be the one to do that.

KD – How do see you yourself living the gospel out in front of CG?

This is something that I struggle with daily. What does that look like for her as an infant? What will it look like when she becomes a toddler? Adolescent? Etc? I have a lot to learn! Right now I feel as though I am held more aware of my actions. She doesn’t actually know right now if I am not living as an example of Christ. However, very soon my life will not only be on display for others, but also to the most important and impressionable people in my life: the little ones that God has allowed me to raise and ultimately teach about Him.

KD – How does the gospel shape your and Brad’s parenting?

J-M – Currently, I think it just shows us a love that we have never been able to understand before. The love that we have for CG is a small glimpse of what God’s love is for us as His children. Eventually, when it comes to discipline and parenting a disobedient child, it will be a whole different story. A whole new journey of remembering what Christ has done for us. Also, as we think about raising CG we know the importance of the Gospel and know that it is the most important thing for us to teach. Individually we have wanted our lives to represent Christ, now we have to pass that on to CG and Lord willing our other children that God is all we need and more important than anything else in this world.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From a Pastor’s Wife: Life Questions Part 1

  1. Great Blog! What a great idea. It was a very helpful blog. But thanks for being sensitive to those of us who have had challenges becoming pregnant.

    Abbey:)

Leave a Reply

