From a Pastor’s Wife: Life Questions Part 2

Continued from yesterday, Jena-Marie answers more questions about how to balance being a pastor’s wife and Mom. Thanks J-M!

KD – How do you balance being a wife and a mom?

Ugh. This one’s hard. It is so natural for me to be a mom; to want my every waking hour to be focused on CG. It really is a love that is indescribable. However, I know that Brad needs to come before her. I know that God has called me to be Brad’s wife, his helper. It would be very easy for my day to be focused around playing with CG and just taking care of her needs. But also, there are things that I need to do serve Brad. It can be the littlest thing, like making dinner and having it ready for him, keeping the house tidy so that it is a place of order and rest for him when he comes home. I do realize that in everything I do for CG is in a way serving Brad. The biggest thing that we have learned is communication in expectations. Especially in the first couple weeks when I wasn’t getting much sleep and my “duties” as a wife and housekeeper were falling short, Brad knew what to expect. Even now, we talk about how I can love and serve him as a stay at home mom, and a mom to CG. It’s new for both of us, so we learn together.

KD – How do you balance all of that with being a pastor’s wife?

My biggest role being a pastor’s wife is supporting Brad. And that role hasn’t changed too much except for not being too tired to listen or too consumed with daily things to pray. I actually think that I can focus more on our ministry in the church as a family more now than I did when I was working full time. I am able to have women into my home for coffee or other times to meet with them. Biggest role though is prayer. And thankfully I can do that throughout my day.

KD – How do you find time to take care of yourself in this new stage of being a stay-at-home Mom?

It’s an adjustment. It definitely looks different than it did before. I have all day to get things done. I just have to prioritize and be flexible at the same time. I need to get sleep, have quiet time with the Lord, exercise, take a shower, etc. All these things are important to me, and will make me a better mom and wife. I need to have a plan, a schedule, in order for any of it to happen. Thankfully, CG is on a relatively consistent schedule so I know when I can get these things done. But it has taken the last 4 months to get into somewhat of a routine. It’s a great day when I can accomplish all of them, but when it’s just one of the above, that’s okay too.

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From a Pastor’s Wife: Life Questions Part 2

  1. Lauren Dyson says:

    I so wish I would have sat and talked with Jena Marie this morning when I saw her, but I didn’t even think about it! I sat in my car this morning crying as I read this because I want to be this passionate about being a mom, but I’m just not. I don’t know if it’s just my personality, but being a mom doesn’t come naturally to me like I expected.

    • kimddavidson says:

      Not all of us are created equally with the same passions, lauren. I am so sorry you have seemed overwhelmed with this. Know that I am praying for you. You r doing a great job with baby a and god is using you powerfully in his little life.

Leave a Reply

