Bikram Hot Yoga – Session 1 Thoughts

I got an amazing deal on a hot yoga package, so I had to take advantage of it. The first hot yoga studio I saw was in Louisville, but never got around to attending a session.
Today, was my first one. I thought I knew what I was in for, but I didn’t have a clue!
Bikram Yoga is a series of 26 poses meant to be done in a certain order for maximum performance of your body. Now, add in the hot part. Over 100 degrees. 90 minutes. Breathing, muscles sore, sweat running everywhere.
Trying to hold a tree toe pose while your legs are covered in sweat is not easy. But, I will tell you that all those toxins gone from my body must be a good thing. Replenishing those will fresh food today and water has been great.
People question my involvement with yoga. I do not buy into the eastern practice of it with the beliefs that most study it and practice it. If the instructor tells to meditate on this or think on this – I think or meditate on Scripture. Today, I didn’t even have the ability to do that. I was so focused on the poses and trying not to fall over due to the sweat running down my arms, face, or legs. But, this is why I have 19 more sessions. I won’t bore you (one reader) with the details of each session, but I will come back and talk about my experience after the 20 is over. I didn’t find most of the poses challenging in and of themselves, it was just with the sweat mixed in that made it difficult. I would not recommend taking a Bikram Hot Yoga class without having first done practice with regular yoga.
Here is where I am taking it and these are some beneifts.
What are your thoughts on yoga or bikram hot yoga? Have you found it to be too intense, beneficial, or detrimental to your overall physical, spiritual, and mental health?

About kimddavidson

I am bought with the blood of Christ and being graced every day to know Him more. I am a writer. Love to read, run, hang out, watch movies, cook, bake, work hard/play harder. God is so abundantly good to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bikram Hot Yoga – Session 1 Thoughts

  1. Katie says:

    Interesting, Kim. I’ve never heard of this. Thanks for your informative reporting!

  2. You know I love yoga! It is so good for my body, mind and spirit. And I’m like you, whenever the instructor says to meditate on something, I usually pray or recite scripture. Sometimes I just say “Jesus” to myself over and over. And sometimes I just think about what they have said but try to tailor it to my own beliefs. You are right, it is hard to think about anything in hot yoga, except for not passing out! But the detox is great. Can’t wait to hear how the rest of your time goes 🙂

  3. Pingback: Workout Choices: Yoga or Rock Music | This Whole Life

Leave a comment